2016 © Copyright

Jeff Grell

Vice Treasurer

Carole Yates


Executive Committee:

Deborah Berry
Brittany Davie
Cherie Nelson-Kabba
Deterius Kimbrough
Chuck Lane
Maria Maldonado
Bob Morck
Melvina Scott
Belinda Creighton Smith
Marvin Spencer
Robert Tyson
Willie Mae Wright

Jim Day


This page is under construction.

please check back soon.


Robert Henderson

Vice President 

Welcome to the Waterloo NAACP website. meet our officers and our Executive Committee.

LaTanya Graves


President - LaTanya Graves
Vice President - Robert Henderson
Treasurer - Jim Day
Vice Treasurer - Jeff Grell
Secretary -  Carole Yates
Asst. Secretary -  Thomas Kessler


Thomas Kessler

Asst. Secretary

Carole Shelley Yates
Carole/Yates has served as Branch secretary since 2014 taking meeting minutes, working with the Membership Committee, and helping in anyway the president requests. She is also on the Education Committee. She has participated in book discussions through Cedar Valley Citizens for Undoing Racism and is part of the Peace & Justice Center at the Cedar Falls Mennonite Church. She is on the board of the Iowa Justice Action Network, a statewide organization working on reforming criminal justice issues.

Yates coordinated programs in energy reduction behavior change at the UNI Center for Energy & Environmental Education and currently focuses on quality of life and sustainable natural resources issues. She is interested in helping Iowans have a strong quality of life with less impact on the environment. She began her career teaching high school journalism/English at East High in Waterloo.



P.O. BOX 304




web design by kabba kreations llc * 319-505-4020 * cheriekabba@gmail.com 

Thomas Kessler serves vocationally as Coordinator of the Peace & Justice Center of the Cedar Valley, a ministry of Cedar Falls Mennonite Church in Cedar Falls, Iowa.  He is actively involved in a number of community organizations, including Cedar Valley Citizens for Undoing Racism, Cedar Valley Advocates for Immigrant and Refugee Rights, the NAACP of Black Hawk County, and is a member of the Board of Directors of Shake the World Health.  Kessler is a Professor Emeritus of Library Services from the University of Northern Iowa, and continues to serve professionally as Treasurer and Executive Board member for the Iowa Library Association.